The Infamous Noob

May 13, 2009

The Fall of a Guild

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , , , , — infamousnoob @ 11:30 pm

So I think the guild I’m in now will be crumbling soon. The GM left to join another guild, but left someone in charge to keep progression flowing. I’m pretty sure that the new GM is too nice to make the guild work, and it’ll regress to merely a casual guild with raiding being something to pass the time. So that being said, I’ll be looking for a new home for my three 80s soon. On that note, I have two more 80 up-and-coming, and I’m not sure what that means. It’s a lot of characters at max level, but leveling is so easy that I don’t think it represents an inordinate amount of time.

Time is something that I’ve been thinking about a lot lately, too. I think that there is a need for a time management system within WoW. Or at least an achievement system for accomplishments within a certain amount of time /played. I might see if I can develop an addon to measure something like achievement points per hour or something like that, I think it would be interesting to see what it averages out to be.

Actually, now that I think about it, time has always been an interest of mine. I read a bunch of things like Einstein’s General Relativity and Brian Greene’s books about physics in high school, always looking for a way to cheat the system of methodical marching of time. I still haven’t found one, but I’ve always thought that life should be lived backwards, like the lucky Benjamin Button.

Anyway, what brought this issue up was the amount of time required to raid and be successful. “Hardcore” guilds spend 30-60 hours per week raiding to gear people up and learn new content. After that, achievements (and by consequence 310% mounts in this expansion) take precedence and titles are handed out. I would gladly spend that much time if I had it, but I don’t. I only have 10-20 hours per week to play, and I don’t want to spend half of that farming for stuff to make flasks and repair money. It could be that this game just isn’t for me. The dependence on other people being “good” at playing irks me. I only trust a handful of people to be as good as they need to in this game, and the rest I just close my eyes and hope that they aren’t as horrible as the average player is. I wonder if I’ll go through real life like that, too.

I’ll keep the failing guild drama up to date here. Back when there’s more to share.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

